Seven North Texas Students Receive Texas Methodist Scholarships


Clockwise from upper left: Kenna Bartholomew, Cortlynn Boone, Carrie Dobbs, Tech Wilson, Sierra Scruggs and Jack Huffman,

Recipients Bartholomew, Boone, Dobbs, Huffman, Scruggs, Stal and Wilson split more than $40,000

For more than 70 years, Methodist churches of Texas have provided scholarships to deserving United Methodist students attending United Methodist colleges and universities in Texas through the Texas United Methodist College Association.

This year, seven students from the North Texas Conference received Texas Methodist scholarships, totaling more than $40,000. This year’s scholarship recipients from the North Texas Conference are:

  • Kenna Bartholomew (Creekwood UMC): Senior at McMurry University majoring in Religion
  • Cortlynn Boone (Argyle UMC): Sophomore at McMurry University majoring in pre-Nursing
  • Carrie Dobbs (First UMC Plano): Sophomore at McMurry University majoring in Christian Ministry
  • Jack Huffman (First UMC Richardson): Junior at Texas Wesleyan University majoring in Math Education
  • Sierra Scruggs (Flower Mound UMC): Sophomore at Southwestern University majoring in Psychology
  • Preston Stal (First UMC Allen): Freshman at McMurray University undecided on a major
  • Tech Wilson (Lovers Lane UMC): Senior at Huston-Tillotson University majoring in Computer Science

Through the Texas Methodist Scholarship Program, every United Methodist congregation in Texas has a unique opportunity to make a vital difference in the lives of students from our congregations. Learn more about TUMCA and the Texas Methodist Scholarship Program.

Published: Wednesday, June 1, 2022