Know Someone Who’s Drawing Others to Christ?

Nominations for Denman Evangelism Awards open until March 15

The Harry Denman Evangelism Awards honor United Methodists in each annual conference whose exceptional ministry of evangelism – expressed in Word (what), Sign (why) and Deed (how) – brings people into a life transforming relationship with Jesus Christ. The award is named for Dr. Harry Denman, general secretary of the board of evangelism of the Methodist Church from 1939 to 1964.

Each year, Annual Conferences join The Foundation for Evangelism to recognize one youth, one clergy, and one lay person in their conference. In the North Texas Conference, the youth and lay award winners are selected by the Center for Leadership Development and Board of Laity, respectively. The conference’s clergy recipient is determined by the Appointive Cabinet.

Nominations for the youth and lay awards closed March 15.



Previous winners

Lay Clergy Youth
Susan Grant, Community UMC Chiv In, Cambodian Fellowship Heather Howard, Wylie UMC
Judy Kline, Greenland Hills, UMC Andrew Forest, Munger Place Haley Macha, Stonebridge UMC
Susan Anderson, Lake Cities UMC Debbie Lyons, First UMC Winnsboro Caroline Farish, Flower Mound UMC
Vicki Busby, Grace UMC Sherman Marie Mitchell, The Woods UMC Anna Shipley, First UMC Rowlett


Published: Wednesday, January 30, 2019