The Journal of the 145<sup>th</sup> Session Since Organization 41<sup>st</sup> Session Following Merger

# The North Texas Annual Conference

of

## The United Methodist Church

held in Plano, Texas, at the

Plano Convention Centre and Munger Place UMC, Dallas St. Paul UMC, Dallas First UMC, Dallas Christ UMC, Plano

June 5- June 7, 2011

# BISHOP W. EARL BLEDSOE Presiding

Conference Secretary Judith Anderson Reedy

Assistant Conference Secretaries Todd Bristow Kenneth R. Dickson Marsha Engle Middleton

> Journal Editor Jodi Smith



CABINET Front row from left: Frank Alegria, Paul A. Gould, Bishop W. Earl Bledsoe, L. Marvin Guier, III, Clara Reed. Back row from left: Keith Boone, Larry George, Jim Ozier



# **BISHOP W. EARL BLEDSOE**

President, North Texas Conference Bishop, Dallas Area of the United Methodist Church



# **EXTENDED CABINET**

Front row from left: Frank Alegria, Paul A. Gould, Bishop W. Earl Bledsoe, L. Marvin Guier, III, Clara Reed. Back row from left: Richard Hearne, Keith Boone, Larry George, Jim Ozier, Jodi Smith, Sheron Patterson



DEACONS AND ELDERS IN FULL CONNECTION

Front row from left: Jackie Wickware, Paul Maletic, Edilson Volfe, Bishop W. Earl Bledsoe, Holly Gotelli, Stacey Piyakhun, Susan Robb Back Row from left: Janet Collinsworth, Abril Goforth, Jessica Wright, Wendy Curran, Preston Weaver, John Baldwin, Jay Cousino, Monty Moore, David Lessner, Chris Everson, Aleze Fulbright

7



**COMMISSIONED** Front row from left: Georgia Harrison, Rebecca Walker, Bishop W. Earl Bledsoe, Patricia Froehlich, Elizabeth Moseley. Back row from left: John Wilks, Dennis Cates, Stephen Cotten.



NORTH TEX AS CONFERENCE JOURNAL-2011

RETIREES

Front row from left: Karan Marshall, Diana Holbert, Bishop W. Earl Bledsoe, Katherine Glaze Lyle, Joyce Cravens, Joan Gray LaBarr. Back row from left: John C. Rosenburg, Woodrow Weilage, Donna Edwards Whitehead, James Richard Wilson, Kay Hord, Milton P. Guttierrez, II



## DELEGATES

First row from left: Natasha Ray, Linda Parks, Gretchen Toler-Debus, Rev. Jan Davis, Lisa Tichenor, Rev. Don Underwood, Rev. Jill Jackson-Sears, Rev. Ouida Lee, Mary Brooke Casad Second row from left: Frank Jackson, Rev. Dana Coker, Rev. Deborah Chapman, Tim Crouch, Rev. Gary Mueller, Rev. Lisa Greenwood, Rev. Andrew Stoker, Rev. Timothy Morrison, Kay Yeager, Ruth Robinson, Alys Richards, Back row from left: Richard Hearne, Henry Lessner, Ricky Harrison, Rev. Clayton Oliphint, Rev. Ron Henderson, Rev. Owen Ross, Rev. Tyrone Gordon

Back row from left: Richard Hearne, Henry Lessner, Ricky Harrison, Rev. Clayton Oliphint, Rev. Ron Henderson, Rev. Owen Ross, Rev. Tyrone Gordon, Rev. Scott Smith, Rev. John Allen

Not pictured: Billy Ratcliff

10

### NORTH TEXAS CONFERENCE GENERAL CONFERENCE

#### LAY DELEGATES

Ricky Harrison <u>ricky@mcyouth.org</u> Tim Crouch <u>tim@thecrouchgroup.com</u> Richard Hearne <u>rbhearne@sbcglobal.net</u> Mary Brooke Casad <u>casad@umc.org</u> Henry Lessner <u>henry@fortunefs.com</u> Kay Yeager <u>kyeager@lhtek.com</u>

#### **CLERGY DELEGATES**

Don Underwood <u>don@cumc.com</u> Jan Davis jan.davis@fumc-rowlett.org Gary Mueller <u>gmueller@firstmethodistplano.org</u> Clayton Oliphint <u>clayton@fumcr.com</u> Ron Henderson <u>rhenderson@crumc.org</u> Jill Jackson-Sears <u>jill@thewoodsumc.org</u>

#### JURISDICTIONAL CONFERENCE

#### LAY DELEGATES

Frank Jackson <u>sfjacks@sbcglobal.net</u> Natasha Ray <u>natasha-ray@sbcglobal.net</u> Linda Parks <u>ljparks@aol.com</u> Scott Smith <u>scottsmith@medicalcity.com</u> Lisa Tichenor <u>lwtichenor@gmail.com</u> Billy Ratcliff <u>bratclif@swbell.net</u>

#### **CLERGY DELEGATES**

Owen Ross <u>owenkross@gmail.com</u> Tyrone Gordon <u>pastorg@slcumc.org</u> Lisa Greenwood <u>lgreenwood@horizonsstewardship.com</u> Tim Morrison <u>tmorrison@crumc.org</u> Debbie Chapman <u>Dchapman@hcumc.org</u> Ouida Lee <u>drouida@umdisciple.org</u>

#### **RESERVE DELEGATES**

#### LAY DELEGATES

Gretchen Toler-Debus <u>gftoler@aol.com</u> Ruth Robinson <u>rrobin1@sbcglobal.net</u> Alys Richards <u>alyssmu@sbcglobal.net</u>

#### **CLERGY DELEGATES**

John Allen johna@tmumc.org Andy Stoker <u>andy@andystoker.com</u> Dana Coker <u>pastordanacoker@gmail.com</u>

# I. CONFERENCE HISTORY

United Methodism in North Texas began in 1816-17 as part of Arkansas Methodism in the Missouri Conference of the Methodist Episcopal Church. When the denomination divided in 1844-45, Methodists of this area became a part of the East Texas Conference of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South. In 1867, the approximate area of what is now this conference was set apart as the Trinity Conference, and later (1874) renamed the North Texas Conference.

The Methodist Episcopal Church had little organized work in Texas after 1845, until 1867 when a Texas Mission was formed. Out of that Mission came the West Texas Conference (primarily Black). In 1939, the Methodist Episcopal Church, the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, and The Methodist Protestant Church united to form The Methodist Church. The West Texas Conference, while a part of The Methodist Church, was in the Central Jurisdiction (all Black). The North Texas Conference was a part of the South Central Jurisdiction, which was one of the geographical jurisdictions.

At the Uniting Conference to form the United Methodist Church held in Dallas, Texas, April 1968, a new Annual Conference was formed in North Texas including members, congregations, and ministers of the North Texas Conference of The Methodist Church of the South Central Jurisdiction (1939-1968), and members, one congregation, and one minister of the Oklahoma-Texas Conference of the Evangelical and United Brethren Church (1886-1968).

At a merger conference held in Dallas, Texas, in May, 1970, members, congregations, and ministers of the North Texas Conference; and members, congregations, and ministers of the West Texas Conference located within the geographical boundaries of the North Texas Conference became the North Texas Conference of The United Methodist Church.

In 1988, the South Central Jurisdictional Conference, meeting in New Orleans, created two episcopacies from what had been the single Dallas-Fort Worth Episcopal Area. This action resulted in the geographical region encompassed by the North Texas Conference being designated the Dallas Episcopal Area, while the Central Texas Conference became the Ft. Worth Area. Since that time, the North Texas Conference has been served by its own bishop.

The sessions of the current North Texas Conference are numbered first from 1867, the organizational date for the North Texas Conference of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, and the Texas Mission of the Methodist Episcopal Church and secondly from 1970, the date of merger of the former North Texas and West Texas Conferences.

A list of the Conference Sessions of these separate conferences is printed in:

- (1) the 1939 Journal of the North Texas Conference, South Central Jurisdiction, (P.28-29) and the 1967 Journal of the North Texas Conference, South Central Jurisdiction (P.140);
- (2) the 1967 Journal of the West Texas Conference of the Central Jurisdiction (P.88);
- (3) the 1967 Official Record of the Oklahoma-Texas Conference of the Evangelical and United Brethren Church (P.17); and
- (4) other histories of Methodism in North Texas.

Conference Sessions since 1968 are listed inside the back cover of this Journal.