The Journal of the 147th Session Since Organization 43rd Session Following Merger

The North Texas Annual Conference

of

The United Methodist Church

held in Richardson, Texas, at

First United Methodist Church, Richardson and First UMC, Allen Hamilton Park UMC, Dallas

June 2–June 4, 2013

BISHOP MICHAEL MCKEE Presiding

Conference Secretary Judith Anderson Reedy

Assistant Conference Secretaries Kenneth R. Dickson Marsha Engle Middleton

> Journal Editor Jodi Smith



CABINET

Front row from left: James Ozier, Camille Gaston, Bishop Michael McKee, Martha Soper, L. Marvin Guier III Back row from left: Ronald Henderson, Larry George, Victor Casad



BISHOP MICHAEL MCKEE President, North Texas Conference Bishop, Dallas Area of the United Methodist Church



EXTENDED CABINET

Front row from left: Camille Gaston, Jodi Smith, Bishop Michael McKee, Sheron Patterson, Martha Soper Back row from left: James Ozier, Linda Parks, Ronald Henderson, Larry George, Victor Casad, L. Marvin Guier III





ELDERS IN FULL CONNECTION

Annelda Joy Crawford, Sharon Clepper O'Connor, Rebecca Whittington Grogan, Bishop Michael McKee, Stephen Joel Cotten, Cheryl A. Jones



DEACONS IN FULL CONNECTION

Patricia Miller Froehlich, Georgia McDowell Harrison, Bishop Michael McKee, Elizabeth Ethun Moseley, Rebecca David Walker



North Texas Conference Journal—2013

COMMISSIONED

Front row from left: Marcus Graham Womack, Mitchell Payne Boone, Carol Montgomery, Bishop Michael McKee, Cassandra Lynn Wade, Allen Todd Zugelter, Clayton Horton. Back row from left: Timothy E. Marks, Adam Lee Spore, Omar Al-Rikabi, James David (JD) Allen, William W. Eason, Zachary Brian Landis



RETIRING CLERGY AND SPOUSES

Front row from left: Linda Wilkinson, Kay Seat, Stanley Seat, JoNell Lindh, Linda Marcum, Sue Cates, John Peel Back row from left: Dennis Wilkinson, Robin Lovin, Jody Lindh, Dennis Cates, David Barton, Ann Barton, Shirley Miller, Keith L. Head, Van Lazaroff, John Dillard

I. CONFERENCE HISTORY

United Methodism in North Texas began in 1816–17 as part of Arkansas Methodism in the Missouri Conference of the Methodist Episcopal Church. When the denomination divided in 1844–45, Methodists of this area became a part of the East Texas Conference of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South. In 1867, the approximate area of what is now this conference was set apart as the Trinity Conference, and later (1874) renamed the North Texas Conference.

The Methodist Episcopal Church had little organized work in Texas after 1845, until 1867 when a Texas Mission was formed. Out of that Mission came the West Texas Conference (primarily Black). In 1939, the Methodist Episcopal Church, the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, and The Methodist Protestant Church united to form The Methodist Church. The West Texas Conference, while a part of The Methodist Church, was in the Central Jurisdiction (all Black). The North Texas Conference was a part of the South Central Jurisdiction, which was one of the geographical jurisdictions.

At the Uniting Conference to form the United Methodist Church held in Dallas, Texas, April 1968, a new Annual Conference was formed in North Texas including members, congregations, and ministers of the North Texas Conference of the Methodist Church of the South Central Jurisdiction (1939–1968), and members, one congregation, and one minister of the Oklahoma-Texas Conference of the Evangelical and United Brethren Church (1886-1968).

At a merger conference held in Dallas, Texas, in May, 1970, members, congregations, and ministers of the North Texas Conference; and members, congregations, and ministers of the West Texas Conference located within the geographical boundaries of the North Texas Conference became the North Texas Conference of The United Methodist Church.

In 1988, the South Central Jurisdictional Conference, meeting in New Orleans, created two episcopacies from what had been the single Dallas-Fort Worth Episcopal Area. This action resulted in the geographical region encompassed by the North Texas Conference being designated the Dallas Episcopal Area, while the Central Texas Conference became the Ft. Worth Area. Since that time, the North Texas Conference has been served by its own bishop.

The sessions of the current North Texas Conference are numbered first from 1867, the organizational date for the North Texas Conference of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, and the Texas Mission of the Methodist Episcopal Church and secondly from 1970, the date of merger of the former North Texas and West Texas Conferences.

A list of the Conference Sessions of these separate conferences is printed in:

- the 1939 Journal of the North Texas Conference, South Central Jurisdiction, (P.28–29) and the 1967 Journal of the North Texas Conference, South Central Jurisdiction (P.140);
- (2) the 1967 Journal of the West Texas Conference of the Central Jurisdiction (P.88);
- (3) the 1967 Official Record of the Oklahoma-Texas Conference of the Evangelical and United Brethren Church (P.17); and
- (4) other histories of Methodism in North Texas.

Conference Sessions since 1968 are listed inside the back cover of this Journal.