The Journal of the 148th Session Since Organization 44th Session Following Merger

The North Texas Annual Conference

of

The United Methodist Church

held in Richardson, Texas, at

First United Methodist Church, Richardson and Hamilton Park UMC, Dallas Spring Valley UMC, Dallas

June 1–June 3, 2014

BISHOP MICHAEL MCKEE Presiding

Conference Secretary Judith Anderson Reedy

Assistant Conference Secretaries Kenneth R. Dickson Marsha Engle Middleton

> Journal Editor Jodi Smith



CABINET

Front row from left: Martha Soper, Bishop Michael McKee, Camille Gaston Back row from left: James Ozier, Ronald Henderson, Victor Casad, Larry George, L. Marvin Guier III



BISHOP MICHAEL MCKEE President, North Texas Conference Bishop, Dallas Area of the United Methodist Church



EXTENDED CABINET

Front row from left: Martha Soper, Jodi Smith, Bishop Michael McKee, Camille Gaston, Sheron Patterson Back row from left: James Ozier, Ronald Henderson, Victor Casad, Larry George, L. Marvin Guier III, Linda Parks



ELDERS IN FULL CONNECTION

Front row from left: Penny Mitchell, Bishop Michael McKee, Mary Miriti Back row from left: Dyan Dietz, Andrew Forrest, Matthew Tuggle, Jason McConnell



DEACON IN FULL CONNECTION JamesPaul Qazilbash, Bishop Michael McKee



ASSOCIATE MEMBER Laura Echols-Richter, Bishop Michal McKee





COMMISSIONED

Front row from left: Edgar Bazan, Jenna Morrison, Bishop Michael McKee, Patrick Hoffman, Maria Dixon Hall Back row from left: JoAnne Pounds, Steven Martinez, Justin Miller, Richard Davis



RETIRING CLERGY AND SPOUSES

Front row from left: David Carr, Jerry Colgrove, George Fisk, Richard Dunagin, Bishop Michael McKee, Christy Thomas, Carole Somers-Clark, Henry Masters, Sr., David Yunker; Back row from left: Pamela Carr, Shirley Colgrove, Kay Fisk, Theresa Dunagin, Fred Durham, Jr., Howard Hedges, Jr., Ron Somers-Clark, Dianna Masters, Beverley Yunker

NORTH TEXAS CONFERENCE DELEGATION

GENERAL CONFERENCE

LAY DELEGATES

Tim Crouch tim@thecrouchgroup.com Linda Parks ljparks@aol.com Kelly Carpenter kelly@ntcumc.org Ricky Harrison ricky@mcyouth.org Richard Hearne rbhearne42@gmail.com

CLERGY DELEGATES

Jan Davis jan.davis@fumc-rowlett.org Clayton Oliphint clayton@fumcr.com Jill Jackson-Sears pastorjill@outlook.com Ron Henderson rhenderson@ntcumc.org Don Underwood don@cumc.com

JURISDICTIONAL CONFERENCE

LAY DELEGATES

Gretchen Toler-Debus gftoler@aol.com Daniel Soliz solizdaniel@aol.com Sally Vonner sallyvonner@yahoo.com Henry Lessner henry@wealthmanagmentgroupllc.com Timmy Clark twrclark@yahoo.com

CLERGY DELEGATES

Owen Ross owenkross@gmail.com Joe Stobaugh joe@graceavenue.org Lisa Greenwood Igreenwood@tmf-fdn.org Ouida Lee drouida@umdisciple.org Tim Morrison tmorrison@crumc.org

RESERVE DELEGATES

LAY DELEGATES

Herman Totten herman.totten@unt.edu Serena Eckert serena@tryfaith.org Don Wiley dpw1@sbcglobal.net

CLERGY DELEGATES

Andy Stoker astoker@fumcdallas.org Derek Jacobs derek@thevillageumc.org Holly Bandel hbandel@creekwoodumc.org

I. CONFERENCE HISTORY

United Methodism in North Texas began in 1816–17 as part of Arkansas Methodism in the Missouri Conference of the Methodist Episcopal Church. When the denomination divided in 1844–45, Methodists of this area became a part of the East Texas Conference of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South. In 1867, the approximate area of what is now this conference was set apart as the Trinity Conference, and later (1874) renamed the North Texas Conference.

The Methodist Episcopal Church had little organized work in Texas after 1845, until 1867 when a Texas Mission was formed. Out of that Mission came the West Texas Conference (primarily Black). In 1939, the Methodist Episcopal Church, the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, and The Methodist Protestant Church united to form The Methodist Church. The West Texas Conference, while a part of The Methodist Church, was in the Central Jurisdiction (all Black). The North Texas Conference was a part of the South Central Jurisdiction, which was one of the geographical jurisdictions.

At the Uniting Conference to form the United Methodist Church held in Dallas, Texas, April 1968, a new Annual Conference was formed in North Texas including members, congregations, and ministers of the North Texas Conference of The Methodist Church of the South Central Jurisdiction (1939–1968), and members, one congregation, and one minister of the Oklahoma-Texas Conference of the Evangelical and United Brethren Church (1886–1968).

At a merger conference held in Dallas, Texas, in May, 1970, members, congregations, and ministers of the North Texas Conference; and members, congregations, and ministers of the West Texas Conference located within the geographical boundaries of the North Texas Conference became the North Texas Conference of The United Methodist Church.

In 1988, the South Central Jurisdictional Conference, meeting in New Orleans, created two episcopacies from what had been the single Dallas-Fort Worth Episcopal Area. This action resulted in the geographical region encompassed by the North Texas Conference being designated the Dallas Episcopal Area, while the Central Texas Conference became the Ft. Worth Area. Since that time, the North Texas Conference has been served by its own bishop.

The sessions of the current North Texas Conference are numbered first from 1867, the organizational date for the North Texas Conference of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, and the Texas Mission of the Methodist Episcopal Church and secondly from 1970, the date of merger of the former North Texas and West Texas Conferences.

A list of the Conference Sessions of these separate conferences is printed in:

- (1) the 1939 Journal of the North Texas Conference, South Central Jurisdiction, (P.28–29) and the 1967 Journal of the North Texas Conference, South Central Jurisdiction (P.140);
- (2) the 1967 Journal of the West Texas Conference of the Central Jurisdiction (P.88);
- (3) the 1967 Official Record of the Oklahoma-Texas Conference of the Evangelical and United Brethren Church (P.17); and
- (4) other histories of Methodism in North Texas.

Conference Sessions since 1968 are listed inside the back cover of this Journal.