#### RESOLUTION

#12 RESOLUTION TO PETITION GENERAL CONFERENCE FOR

DEACONS TO ADMINISTER THE SACRAMENTS

**FROM:** Rev. Patty Froehlich, Chair of the North Texas Annual

Conference Order of Deacons Conference Order of Deacons

Rev. Rebecca David Hensley, Deacon Rev. Elizabeth Moseley, Deacon

**WHEREAS**, a study of ordination was commissioned by the 2016 General Conference to, among other things, "Articulate a theology of ordained ministry for The United Methodist Church in consultation with the Committee on Faith and Order;" and

WHEREAS, according to this commissioned study, ordination is sacramental in nature, and because of the sacramental nature of ordination, both deacons and elders bear responsibility for nurturing and leading the sacramental life of the church, and

**WHEREAS**, the ministry of the Order of Deacons in the North Texas Annual Conference is broad, diverse, and supportive of the work and the sacramental life of the local church, and

**WHEREAS**, the ministry of the Order of Deacons would be more fully utilized in helping the ministry of the annual conference flourish if given the authority by the General Conference to preside over the sacraments of Holy Communion and Baptism; now

**THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED** that the North Texas Annual Conference requests the secretary or their designee to submit on behalf of the Annual Conference a legislative petition to the General Conference meeting in 2024 that proposes the following amendments to the *Book of Discipline*:

#### Amend ¶328 as follows:

## $\P$ 328. The ministry of a Deacon -

From among the baptized, deacons are called by God to a lifetime of servant leadership, authorized by the Church, and ordained by a bishop.... Deacons give leadership in the Church's life: in teaching and proclaiming the Word; in contributing to worship, in assisting the elders-in administering the sacraments of baptism and Holy Communion or in presiding at the celebration of the sacraments when contextually appropriate and duly authorized for the sake of extending the mission and ministry of the church and offering the means of grace to the world; in forming and nurturing disciples; in conducting marriages and burying the dead; in embodying the church's mission to the world; and in leading congregations in interpreting the needs, concerns, and hopes of the world. the resident bishop of the annual conference in which the deacon is appointed may authorize the deacon to preside at the celebration of the sacraments. Presiding at the celebration of the sacraments involves taking responsibility to lead the gathered community in celebrating baptism and Holy Communion. As members of the Order of Deacons, all deacons are in covenant with all other deacons in the annual conference and shall participate in the life of their order.

**AND, BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED**, that the Secretary is encouraged to offer the following rationale in support of this legislative petition, written on behalf of the North Texas Annual Conference, to amend the Book of Discipline:

Ordained ministry is an embodied participation in the sacred movement of the Spirit in pursuit of a transformed world. Because of the sacramental nature of ordination, both deacons and elders bear responsibility for nurturing and leading the sacramental life of the church. Deacons, by virtue of their ordination should be authorized to preside over the sacramental practice of the church both within and beyond its walls. Enabling Deacons to preside at the table and the font will equip the church for continued flourishing in the future.

# **Deacons in Support of the Resolution**

Rev. Kay Ash Rev. David Magallanes Rev. Josephine M. Biggerstaff Rev. Paul Maletic

Rev. Tamara Bullard Rev. Sarah Marsalis-Luginbill

Rev. Janet Cavalier
Rev. Debbie Chapman
Rev. Doug Meyer
Rev. Jennifer Chickering
Rev. Karen Chraska
Rev. Ugonna Onuoha
Rev. Janet Collinsworth
Rev. Chelsea Peddecord

Rev. Kay Eck Rev. Maggie Proshek

Rev. Eva Englert-Jessen Rev. JamesPaul Aidan Qazilbash, BCC

Rev. Mike Flynn Rev. Sarah Roberts
Rev. Anna Bundy Hagler Rev. Linda Roby
Rev. Dr. Maria Dixon Hall Rev. Jennifer Scott
Rev. Justin Hancock Rev. Allie Shulman

Rev. Georgia Harrison Rev. Katrina Culberson Smith

Rev. Pavielle Jenkins Rev. Sarah Squires

Rev. Kathryn Johnson Rev. Gary Boyd Stephens

Rev. Evan Jones

Rev. Joe Stobaugh

Rev. Terry P. Jones

Rev. Cathy Sweeney

Rev. Sheri Lake

Rev. Micki Lyford

Rev. Phyllis Wilson

## Elders, Licensed Local Pastors, and Laity in Support of the Resolution

#### **Elders**

Rev. Derek Jacobs, Chair of the North Texas Annual Conference Order of Elders

Rev. Ashley Anne Sipe, President of North Texas Conference Clergywomen

Rev. J.D. Allen

Rev. Holly G. Bandel

Rev. Mitchell Boone

Dr. Tommy Brumett

Rev. Cheryl Murphy

Rev. Laura Byrd

Rev. Katie Newsome

Rev. Valarie Englert

Rev. Eric Folkerth

Rev. Stacey Piyakhun

Rev. Scott Gilliland Rev. Deborah Riggsby Rev. Sara Hardaway Rev. Susan Robb

Rev. Ricky Harrison Rev. Alexandra Robinson

Rev. Sandy Heard Rev. Abe Smith
Rev. Patrick Hoffman Rev. Kerry Smith
Rev. Scott Holcomb-McLain Rev. Kathryn

Strempke Rev. Allison Jean Rev. Preston Weaver Rev. Jarrod Johnston Rev. Ann Willet Rev. Danielle Buwon Kim Rev. Angela Williams Rev. Levy Laguardia Rev. Marcus Womack

## Associate Member, Rev. Laura Echols-Richter

#### **Licensed Local Pastors**

Rev. Deniece Roane-Mason, Chair, North Texas Conference Fellowship of Licensed Local

**Pastors** 

Pastor Kristen Perkins Glover

Martha Hagan-Smith

Pastor Shanna L. Kronk Rev. Jana Morales

Rev. Susan Leddy
Rev. Deana Lowe
Rev. Scott Luginbill
Debbie Lyons

Staci Orr
Nancy Russell
Rev. Kellie Sanford
Rev. Boston White

#### Laity

Kim Brannon, North Texas Conference Lay Leader

Wendy Campbell, President, North Texas Conference United Women in Faith

Cat Angeles

Jenny Bates Rick Foreman
Cathy Bell Chrystal Forrester
Petrella Booker Monty Forrester
Jeff Bouis Julie Harding

Shelley Bulls Dr. Mary Anne Knolle, LMFT,

LPC Kelly Carpenter

Larry E. Collins

Tracey Croissant

Betty Petkovsek

Baylee Davis

Gretchen Toler Debus

Mary Nickson

Rebecca Ozmun

Betty Petkovsek

Robert Sine

Anne Todd

Michael Dorff

Amy Wilson