

BISHOP MICHAEL MCKEE
President, North Texas Conference
Bishop, Dallas Area of The United Methodist Church



CABINET

From left: Andrew Joseph Lewis, Ronald Henderson, Debra Hobbs Mason, Bishop Michael McKee, Victor Casad, Camille Gaston, Owen Ross, L. Marvin Guier III



EXTENDED CABINET

From left: Andrew Joseph Lewis, Ronald Henderson, Victor Casad, Debra Hobbs Mason, Bishop Michael McKee, Jodi Smith, Camille Gaston, Owen Ross, L. Marvin Guier III, Matt Jacob, Jeff Bouis



ELDERS AND DEACON IN FULL CONNECTION

From left: Patrick Littlefield, Ramsey Patton, Katherine Newsome, Scott Gilliland, Samantha Parson, Bishop Michael McKee, Justin Miller, Camille May (Deacon), Omar Al-Rikabi, Raegan Gilliland, Julie Richter, Chad McSwain, Adam Young



COMMISSIONED ELDERS AND DEACONS

From left: David Finley (Deacon), Kimberly Meyers (Deacon), Jennifer Chickering (Deacon), Jacob Fields (Elder), Bishop Michael McKee, Bryant Phelps (Elder), Sarah Marsalis-Luginbill (Deacon), Jeffrey Pehl (Elder), Silvia Wang (Elder)



RETIRING CLERGY AND SPOUSES

From left: Sylvesta Shed, Tammy Shed, Elzie Odom, Janet Bell Odom, Maggie Adrian, Pete Adrian, Joy Anderson, Frank Roby, Linda Roby, Lyle Benson, Marie Mitchell, Charles Reed, Clara Reed, Rock Fade, Reid Fade, Susan Hood, Don Hood, Vivian Crowson, Eric Rothe, Richard Crowson, Judy Snider, Allen Snider

I. CONFERENCE HISTORY

United Methodism in North Texas began in 1816-17 as part of Arkansas Methodism in the Missouri Conference of the Methodist Episcopal Church. When the denomination divided in 1844-45, Methodists of this area became a part of the East Texas Conference of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South. In 1867, the approximate area of what is now this conference was set apart as the Trinity Conference, and later (1874) renamed the North Texas Conference.

The Methodist Episcopal Church had little organized work in Texas after 1845, until 1867 when a Texas Mission was formed. Out of that Mission came the West Texas Conference (primarily Black). In 1939, the Methodist Episcopal Church, the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, and The Methodist Protestant Church united to form The Methodist Church. The West Texas Conference, while a part of The Methodist Church, was in the Central Jurisdiction (all Black). The North Texas Conference was a part of the South Central Jurisdiction, which was one of the geographical jurisdictions.

At the Uniting Conference to form The United Methodist Church held in Dallas, Texas, April 1968, a new Annual Conference was formed in North Texas including members, congregations, and ministers of the North Texas Conference of The Methodist Church of the South Central Jurisdiction (1939-1968), and members, one congregation, and one minister of the Oklahoma-Texas Conference of the Evangelical and United Brethren Church (1886-1968).

At a merger conference held in Dallas, Texas, in May, 1970, members, congregations, and ministers of the North Texas Conference and members, congregations, and ministers of the West Texas Conference located within the geographical boundaries of the North Texas Conference became the North Texas Conference of The United Methodist Church.

In 1988, the South Central Jurisdictional Conference, meeting in New Orleans, created two episco-

pacies from what had been the single Dallas-Fort Worth Episcopal Area. This action resulted in the geographical region encompassed by the North Texas Conference being designated the Dallas Episcopal Area, while the Central Texas Conference became the Ft. Worth Area. Since that time, the North Texas Conference has been served by its own bishop.

The sessions of the current North Texas Conference are numbered first from 1867, the organizational date for the North Texas Conference of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, and the Texas Mission of the Methodist Episcopal Church and secondly from 1970, the date of merger of the former North Texas and West Texas Conferences.

A list of the Conference Sessions of these separate conferences is printed in:

- (1) the 1939 Journal of the North Texas Conference, South Central Jurisdiction (P.28-29), and the 1967 Journal of the North Texas Conference, South Central Jurisdiction (P.140);
- (2) the 1967 Journal of the West Texas Conference of the Central Jurisdiction (P.88);
- (3) the 1967 Official Record of the Oklahoma-Texas Conference of the Evangelical and United Brethren Church (P.17); and
- (4) other histories of Methodism in North Texas.

Conference Sessions since 1968 are listed inside the back cover of this Journal.

