The Journal of the 150th Session Since Organization 46th Session Following Merger

The North Texas Annual Conference

of

The United Methodist Church

held in Plano, Texas, at

St. Andrew UMC, Plano and First UMC, Carrollton Christ UMC, Plano

June 5-June 7, 2016

BISHOP MICHAEL MCKEE Presiding

Conference Secretary Judith Anderson Reedy

Assistant Conference Secretaries Kenneth R. Dickson Marsha Engle Middleton Adam White

> Journal Editor Jodi Smith



CABINET

Front row from left: Larry George, Bishop Michael McKee, L. Marvin Guier III Back row from left: Martha Soper, James Ozier, Ronald Henderson, Victor Casad, Camille Gaston



BISHOP MICHAEL MCKEE

President, North Texas Conference
Bishop, Dallas Area of the United Methodist Church



EXTENDED CABINET

Front row from left: Jodi Smith, Larry George, Bishop Michael McKee, L. Marvin Guier III, Sheron Patterson Back row from left: Martha Soper, James Ozier, Ronald Henderson, Victor Casad, Camille Gaston, Jeff Bouis



ELDERS IN FULL CONNECTION

Front row from left: Steven Martinez, Bishop Michael McKee, Scot Bontrager Back row from left: Susan Robb, Edgar Bazan Garza, Patrick Hoffman, Clayton Horton, Jenna Morrison



COMMISSIONED

Front row from left: Megan Danner, Chad McSwain, Geoffrey Moore,
Bishop Michael McKee, Patrick Littlefield, Adam White, Raegan Gilliland
Back row from left: Camille Reeder, Katherine Newsome, Samantha Parson, William Mauldin, Jane Graner, Ramsey Patton



RETIRING CLERGY AND SPOUSES

From left: Judy Shaddox, Billy Shaddox, Stella Read, Ben Read, Sandra Minor, James Minor, Deryl Elms, Linda Elms, George Betz, Katherine Betz, Charles Carnahan

I. CONFERENCE HISTORY

United Methodism in North Texas began in 1816–17 as part of Arkansas Methodism in the Missouri Conference of the Methodist Episcopal Church. When the denomination divided in 1844–45, Methodists of this area became a part of the East Texas Conference of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South. In 1867, the approximate area of what is now this conference was set apart as the Trinity Conference, and later (1874) renamed the North Texas Conference.

The Methodist Episcopal Church had little organized work in Texas after 1845, until 1867 when a Texas Mission was formed. Out of that Mission came the West Texas Conference (primarily Black). In 1939, the Methodist Episcopal Church, the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, and The Methodist Protestant Church united to form The Methodist Church. The West Texas Conference, while a part of The Methodist Church, was in the Central Jurisdiction (all Black). The North Texas Conference was a part of the South Central Jurisdiction, which was one of the geographical jurisdictions.

At the Uniting Conference to form the United Methodist Church held in Dallas, Texas, April 1968, a new Annual Conference was formed in North Texas including members, congregations, and ministers of the North Texas Conference of The Methodist Church of the South Central Jurisdiction (1939–1968), and members, one congregation, and one minister of the Oklahoma-Texas Conference of the Evangelical and United Brethren Church (1886–1968).

At a merger conference held in Dallas, Texas, in May, 1970, members, congregations, and ministers of the North Texas Conference; and members, congregations, and ministers of the West Texas Conference located within the geographical boundaries of the North Texas Conference became the North Texas Conference of The United Methodist Church.

In 1988, the South Central Jurisdictional Conference, meeting in New Orleans, created two episcopacies from what had been the single Dallas-Fort Worth Episcopal Area. This action resulted in the geographical region encompassed by the North Texas Conference being designated the Dallas Episcopal Area, while the Central Texas Conference became the Ft. Worth Area. Since that time, the North Texas Conference has been served by its own bishop.

The sessions of the current North Texas Conference are numbered first from 1867, the organizational date for the North Texas Conference of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, and the Texas Mission of the Methodist Episcopal Church and secondly from 1970, the date of merger of the former North Texas and West Texas Conferences.

A list of the Conference Sessions of these separate conferences is printed in:

- (1) the 1939 Journal of the North Texas Conference, South Central Jurisdiction, (P.28–29) and the 1967 Journal of the North Texas Conference, South Central Jurisdiction (P.140);
- (2) the 1967 Journal of the West Texas Conference of the Central Jurisdiction (P.88);
- (3) the 1967 Official Record of the Oklahoma-Texas Conference of the Evangelical and United Brethren Church (P.17); and
- (4) other histories of Methodism in North Texas.

Conference Sessions since 1968 are listed inside the back cover of this Journal.